Matterhorn

matterhornMatterhorn
by Karl Marlantes
2009 / 640 pages
read by Bronson Pinchot 21h 10m
rating:  9.5   / literary war

I wasn’t even going to read this book because I tend not to like war books – even so-called “anti-war” books (movies).  But three people in the small Modern Fiction Reading Group gave the book a 10!  I thought maybe I should at least give it a try.   I mean I love Cormac McCarthy’s Blood Meridian – that’s a 10!

So I read it – was very impressed but Marlantes is no McCarthy or Faulkner although I see the influences.  What Marlantes has written is very much his own work.

It was the language and themes and history which pushed McCarthy’s horrendously violent book up to that “10” line.  Lots of books get a 9.5 from me,  but it takes something special to lift it to “one of the best books I’ve ever read in my life.”   >>>>MORE>>>>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

