End of Year!

It’s that time again – my reading summary.   I read 187 books which is really more than I think is healthy and I need to get out more  (lol).  But it’s possible I feel this way because there were 27 books in December alone.   These are the “Best of Bek’s Books for 2015”  in no particular order:

** FICTION :
Dept. of Speculation
by Jenny Offill – (US)

On Such a Full Sea
by Chang-rae Lee – (US)

Suspended Sentences
by Patrick Modiano – (France)

The Snopes Trilogy
by William Faulkner (US)

The Neapolitan Quartet
Elena Ferrante (Italy)

A Brief History of Seven Killings
by Marlon James (Jamaican)

City on Fire
by Garth Risk Hallberg (US)

A Little Life
by Hanya Yanagihara (US)

Did You Ever Have a Family
by Bill Clegg (US)

Karnak Cafe
by Naguib Mahfouz

**  CRIME –
The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine
by Alexander McCall Smith

The Cartel
by Don Winslow

Career of Evil
by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

The Girl in the Spider’s Web
by David Lagercrantz

The Purity of Vengeance
by Jussi Adler-Olsen

The Crossing
by Michael Connelly

Breathing Water
by Timothy Hallinan

Elizabeth is Missing
by Emma Healey

Justice Redeemed
by Scott Pratt

*********
** NONFICTION :
The Meaning of Human Existence
by Edward O. Wilson

The War of the Roses: The Fall of the Plantagenets and the Rise of the Tudors
by Dan Jones

The Plantagenets: The Warrior Kings and Queens Who Made England
by Dan Jones

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
by Atul Gawande

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania
by Erik Larson

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
by Daniel James Brown

The Righteous Mind: Why Good People are Divided by Politics and Religion
by Jonathan Haidt

Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to End of Year!

  1. jameswharris says:

    Dang Becky, 187 books!!! I feel like a sloth having only read 68.

    Like

  2. But I don’t watch TV or go to movies or other stuff. This upcoming year I hope to see more of a couple friends and maybe do some stuff.

    Like

  3. Dagny says:

    Dang, 27 in December – must have been rough. 🙂 I just made 100 today. My three favorites are The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The Martian by Andy Weir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. Plus, I could add Balzac’s The Black Sheep, but it was a reread.

    Like

  4. Njonjo Kahato says:

    Hi,

    I’ve read 50 this year but, for the course at the university! This year though, I intend to read for me.

    Happy New Year.

    Regards, Njonjo

    Like

    • When I was in university I read almost nothing just for me, maybe a summertime book or two. When I was married and working with children I read maybe a couple dozen books a year. When the kids moved out but I was still working I read maybe 60-100 a year. Now I’ve been retired for 3+ years and the reading has gone way up. Happy New Year! Happy Reading!

      Like

  5. residentjudge says:

    Wow, Becky! 187!! Is that a record?

    Like

    • Yes – it’s a record for me. But when I worked (a school teacher) I read about 100 a year, maybe 120. That’s because I lived alone and mostly read books for entertainment. Now I’m retired (3+ years) and I still read a lot so the number of books has gone up.

      Like

  6. Lisa Hill says:

    What a wonderful year, I feel as if I’ve read some of these because I’ve followed your reviews all through the year:)
    I’ve just set my target at Goodreads, 100 again even though I’ll probably surpass it again because I found I liked it better if I didn’t feel pressured.
    LOL I always have vague plans to ‘do some stuff; too, but when it comes down to it, I’d rather read…

    Like

    • Omg, Lisa, I laughed out loud at your last line. Yes, it was a good year. I’m only changing one thing this year and that’s the number of “challenges” I do. Instead of 7 I’ll maybe do 2. lol Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

